With its amazing and expansive collection of unique plants and exquisite gardens, Queen Victoria Park (QVC) is undoubtedly the show case of Niagara Falls recreational parks, and offers glorious viewing the magnificent falls.
Boarding alongside by the steep Fallsview moraine and the Niagara River Gorge, the park contains an extensive collection of unique native and international plants and beautifully maintained gardens. The park runs from the edge of the Canadian Falls and extends to Oakes Gardens Theatre near the Rainbow Bridge. This area provides breathtaking vantage points for viewing the falls.
From here, visitors can also access Hornblower Niagara Cruises, Clifton Hill and Journey Behind the Falls, located near the edge of the Horseshoe Falls. It’s also a beautiful spot place to bring a lunch and enjoy a spectacular view as well as the lovely garden setting.
Queen Victoria Park offers something special for every season. In spring, over 500,000 bright daffodils herald the beginning of the season, followed by magnificent fragrant magnolia trees, breathtaking tulips and other blooming flowers and plants. Summer features colourful and creative carpet bedding displays and thousands of bedding plants.
In autumn, Chrysanthemums and kale provide interest and pops of texture and colour after cooler, frosty weather arrives. During winter months, the bare tree branches and stark shrubs create visual interest for visitors, especially when sheathed with the freezing mist of the falls. Queen Victoria Park is also the focal point for the annual winter Festival of Lights, Canada’s foremost illumination festival in Niagara Falls, Ontario, which captures the magic of the holiday season with millions of lights strung throughout the park. The festival runs November 15, 2014 –January 12, 2015.
The area encompassing Queen Victoria Park was originally part of the upper Niagara River bed. By the late 1820s, the land was sold to Thomas Clark and Samuel Street, who constructed several buildings near the area now called Table Rock on the south end of the future park property. In March 1887 the Queen Victoria Niagara Falls Park Act was passed and old and dilapidated outbuildings on the property were razed, the grounds were cleaned up, and Queen Victoria Park was officially opened to the public on May 24, 1888; the birthday of Queen Victoria.
The park is free and open to the public year round.
To book a room at the best available rates be sure to check out our Niagara Falls Hotel Packages