Table Rock Welcome Centre is the main hub to Niagara Falls, where more than 8 million visitors begin their journey to explore this amazing natural wonder.
Table Rock offers a marvellous vantage point of Horseshoe Falls, where a sheet of 2,800 cubic meters of water continually crashes down to the basin below. In 2008, extensive renovations to Table Rock included the addition of a covered pedestrian walkway to take visitors safely over the Niagara Parkway to the Falls Parking Lot and the Incline Railway, as well as a two-level indoor viewing gallery called the Grand Hall, where a panoramic view of the falls can be appreciated no matter what the weather.
Table Rock is truly the Centre of Niagara Falls Attractions
Table Rock is also the jumping off point to access a number of exciting Niagara Falls attractions and features including:
- The Welcome Centre, where visitors can plan their day at the falls, purchase special admission passes and make reservations.
- Niagara’s Fury, an attraction where visitors can experience the creation of the falls in 4-D.
- Journey Behind the Falls tour, where visitors use a series of tunnels and elevators to get below and behind the falls for amazing and stunning views and photo opportunities.
- Shopping at Table Rock, which includes an array of speciality stores, from fun candy shops to Canadian diamonds and brand name clothes boutiques.
- Table Rock Food Court, where hungry visitors can find a variety of eateries offering everything from quick options for a light meal or something more substantial.
But the main attraction is the breathtaking falls themselves, which are free and always available for viewing 24 hours a day.
Table Rock is fully accessible by wheelchair, and also has currency exchanges, automatic teller machines and a first aid station. Table Rock can be easily reached from the Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa by visiting the Falls Incline Railway, which will take you on a quick ride down the steep moraine and deliver you to Table Rock. From here, visitors can take a lovely 10-minute walk through the beautiful gardens of Queen Victoria Park.
Table Rock boasts an interesting and extensive history linked to its key position at the falls. Table Rock itself was a limestone ledge overhang near the edge of the falls which fell into the Niagara Gorge in 1850. The original structure on Table Rock was constructed in 1853 by Saul Davis at a time when private owners controlled the land surrounding Niagara Falls, and occupied the area just north of the existing Table Rock center. It was one of the first structures taken over by the Commission with the Parks’ lands in 1886.
Paid parking is also available just across the street at the Falls Parking lot or at the Rapidsview lot, a short drive south of the falls which offers free shuttle bus service to Table Rock.
Book your stay at the Marriott Fallsview Hotel, the closest hotel to the Niagara Falls Incline Railway, which provides direct and easy access to the Table Rock Welcome Centre. To book a room at the best available rates be sure to check out our Niagara Falls Hotel Packages